Gallery: Meet the 2023 Schar School Outstanding Student Award Winners

A group of well-dressed young people wearing yellow ribbons with gold medals smile for the camera.
The 2023 Student Award Winners: From left, Courtney Kayser, Piper B. Biery, Muhammad Salar Khan, Kennedi Wilson, Ryan Barock, Andrew Strasberg, Erin Potter, Nicholas Craven, Aarzu Maknojia, Emily R. Mills, and Josh Zeeman. Dean Mark J. Rozell is third from right. Not pictured, Cassidy R. Bilskie, winner of the Outstanding Biodefense Student award, and Beatriz Pascual Macias, winner of the Outstanding International Security Student award.

Thirteen Schar School of Policy and Government graduating scholars were awarded with Outstanding Student Awards prior to the Schar School Degree Celebration at EagleBank Arena on May 19, 2023. Presentations of the medals were made by Dean Mark J. Rozell, Associate Dean Ming Wan, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs Ann M. Ludwick, and the students’ program directors.

See the gallery below. All photos by John Boal Photography.


A woman in a white dress and black jacket smiles as a woman to her left beams in happiness.
Director of Undergraduate Programs Heba F. El-Shazli, right, is pleased for Angela J. Khoury/Stephen T. Early Award winner Kennedi Wilson for Outstanding Senior in Government and International Politics.
A man in a dark suit with a gold medal around his neck smiles as a woman applauds.
El-Shazli applauds John W. Godbold Award winner Andrew Strasberg for Outstanding Senior in Public Administration.
Two women in yellow watch as a man in a gray suit and wearing a gold medal holds a green folder.
Ryan Barock accepts his Gender and Politics (GAP) Leadership Award as Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs Ann M. Ludwick, left, and GAP Program Director and Associate Dean of Student and Academic Affairs Bonnie Stabile, look on.
A man in a dark suit with a gold medal is congratulated by a man in glasses as a man in a blue suit smiles at the camera.
Josh Zeeman accepts his David Ricardo Award for Outstanding Global Commerce and Policy Student from Associate Dean Ming Wan as Professor J.P. Singh looks on.
A woman in a pink dress wearing a gold medal smiles as a woman in white hair points a proud finger at her.
Emily Mills is the 2023 winner of the Outstanding Political Science master’s student award.
A man in a blue blazer stands next to a woman in a dark jacket and striped skirt wearing a gold medal.
Associate Professor James N. Burroughs smiles with Erin Potter, the John D.R. Cole Award winner for Outstanding Public Administration Student.
A woman in dark hair and dark dress accepts a green certificate from a man in a blue jacket while another man watches.
The Alexis de Tocqueville Award winner for the outstanding public policy master’s student, Aarzu Maknojia, accepts her certificate from Ming Wan as Program Director and Associate Professor Jeremy Mayer, watches.
Two men in suit jackets laugh at the camera.
Nicholas Craven is the 2023 winner of the Malcom P. McLean Transportation Award. He and Transportation Policy, Operations, and Logistics Program Director Jonathan Gifford share a laugh at the ceremony.
A woman in a purple shawl and white blouse smiles as a man in a dark jacket watches.
Piper B. Biery accepts the Frances Harbour Award for Political Science Community Leadership as Jeremy Mayer watches.
A woman in a blue dress holds a green certificate and wears a gold medal as a man in a dark jacket smiles in the background.
Outstanding Doctoral Student in Political Science award winner Courtney Kayser stands with Jeremy Mayer.
A man in a blue jacket and white shirt takes a green folder while a man in gray and in glasses watches from behind.
The Joseph L. Fisher Award for the Public Policy Doctoral Student Award recipient is Muhammad Salar Khan. He accepts the award from Ming Wan as Program Director John Earle looks on.